Tags

, , , ,

DSC_0236Hi there,

I’m always on the lookout for new recipes when it comes to preparing my lunch for work so when we accidently bought two packets of spinach this weekend I decided it would be the perfect opportunity for me to have a go at making some spinach and basil pesto. I’m already a big fan of red pesto, which we eat quite often with either salmon or cod, so I was excited to see how this recipe would compare.DSC_0233

DSC_0234Luckily I had most of the ingredients to hand so after throwing them all in to the mixer to make the paste all I needed to do was boil some soba noodles (another new discovery), add a handful of spinach and then mix through the pesto. As well as being healthy one of the advantages of these noodles is that they only take five minutes to cook so after flaking some salmon my lunch for work was ready.DSC_0237This pesto is lovely and fresh although it seemed a little on the dry side so I think you could definitely get away with adding more than the 2tbsp of oil the recipe states as it didn’t seem to coat the noodles very well. I am also a big fan of rocket and coriander so I think that will be my next experiment.DSC_0241I found this recipe online and amended it to what ingredients I had, but there are plenty of other recipes available if you don’t have any measuring cups.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh spinach leaves, washed and stemmed
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1-2 tsp. (depending on preference) squeezy garlic puree
  • 2 tbsp. rapeseed oil
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. (depending on preference) fresh ground sea salt
  • 1/8-1/2 tsp. (depending on preference) fresh ground black pepper

Method:

  1. Place all the ingredients into a food processor and pulse to a fine paste.
  2. Taste and adjust the seasoning then transfer to a bowl.
  3. Top with a thin coat of oil to prevent the top of the pesto from discoloring.

Suz x

