Tags

, ,

CakeHi there,

I’ve been trying to think of a witty introduction all week for this post, but the creative juices don’t seem to be flowing so instead of thinking about it I’ll just get right into it.

A few months back my sister asked me to make my nephew a 21st birthday cake. I have oodles of chocolate cake recipes so while I was thinking that this would be an easy task she dropped the bombshell… chocolate was off the agenda. She wanted a white sponge cake with fudge topping, so cue lots of research.

After giving my sister a shortlist of five cakes it was decided that my nephew would be getting a three layer cookies and cream cake and all I’ll say is that I’m glad that wasn’t me consuming all those calories because this was a beast of a cake, which used 1kg of icing sugar alone!Dry mix

Batter

Batter+cookie mixMy nephew’s birthday fell midweek so I decided to make this a three-day project so that I could work on a different stage every night after work. The first stage saw me make the three sponge cakes. On the second day I made the icing, which was so immense that even my K-Mix struggled with the sheer quantity of mixture, and built and covered the cake. Then on the last day I made the chocolate decorations, finished decorating the cake before delivering it to my sister. As I was delivering the cake the night before my nephew’s birthday I also decided to use some broken up toffee crisp rather than fresh cookies as I was worried that they would go stale.In tin

ButtercreamI can’t comment on how this cake tastes – although I was told it tasted lovely, but it is a relatively easy one to make and you could make it within a day. For once, I had no issues with anything going wrong while I was making this cake but I did struggle slightly with the buttercream as it was a bit too stiff so if I was making it again I’d ensure that the buttercream was a lot softer so that it would be easier to cover the cake.

Layer1

Layer2If you have a monstrously sweet tooth and fancy making this cake I have listed the recipe and method below:Layer3

Cake top

top close

SlicedFor the sponge

  • 110g unsalted butter, softened
  • 380g caster sugar
  • 320g plain flour
  • 4tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp salt
  • 320ml buttermilk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 135g fresh cookies, either miIk or double chocolate, but not white chocolate

For the buttercream frosting

  • 1kg icing sugar, sifted
  • 320g softened unsalted butter
  • 500g mascarpone
  • Chopped toffee crisp, grated chocolate or crumbled cookies

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C/150 fan/ gas 3.
  2. Grease and line three 8” cake tins.
  3. Mix the butter and sugar together along with the dry ingredients until you get a sandy consistency.
  4. Mix together the buttermilk and eggs then add this to the other ingredients and mix until the batter is smooth and even.
  5. Crumble the cookies and add them to the batter. Divide the mixture evenly between the tins.
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes.
  7. Allow the sponge to cool before removing from the tin.
  8. To make the frosting add the icing sugar and butter gradually and mix until combined.
  9. Add one third of the mascarpone and continue to mix before adding the rest and beating on a high speed until light and fluffy.
  10. When the sponge has cooled assemble the cakes and layer with buttercream and cookies. Use the remaining frosting to cover the whole cake.
  11. Decorate the cake with more cookies or other topping.

Suz x

