Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DSC_5803

Hi there,

I have been suffering with a massive breakout over the last month which I can only think was caused by my new Becca foundation even though I have only used it once. And I’ve been struggling to clear it with my current routine which included my Botanics cleanser and scrub, and my Aromatherapy Associate Refining oil and Orange Flower Moisturiser. Therefore, after a bit of research I decided to bite the bullet and buy some different products which I thought would help clear up my spots and my rather angry looking skin.DSC_5805Thanks to a 20% off voucher I found online I ended up buying the Skincare Essentials Resurfacing set which includes the Elemis Tri-Enzyme Resurfacing Facial Wash, the Balancing Lavender Toner and the Cellular Recovery Skin Bliss Capsules. I also decided to buy the Elemis Skin Buff Exfoliator as my Botanics scrub had run out.

I’ve been using the products for a few weeks now and so far I’m loving everything. I haven’t had any new breakouts since and I’m finding the scarring is gradually fading and my skin doesn’t seem as angry or red as before. The creamy facial wash has that spa smell about it and is not unpleasant, although I wouldn’t say the smell is amazing.

Surprisingly I have also been enjoying using the toner. In the past I’ve never understood the point of toners, but I find this one to be very soothing to use and I haven’t had an oily or shiny face since I started using it.DSC_5806As you can imagine I’ve used a lot of exfoliators over the years and previous favourites include the Michael Todd Jojoba Charcoal Scrub and the Ole Henriksen Walnut Complexion Scrub however, this is now my new favourite. I like the texture and the feel of this scrub. The beads are incredibly fine, but are very effective without being too harsh on the skin. It also helps that it smells really good as well. This is a great all-rounder and I can see it being a favourite for years to come, although it’s not the most generous of sizes.DSC_5809The rose and lavender capsules have been a surprise but welcome addition to this set and I have to admit that I love the whole experience of twisting off the top and massaging the creamy, pearlised oil into my skin. There is an ‘ouch’ moment when you see the price of these, but at some point I will buy a full size jar and use them on alternate days as it would be too expensive otherwise.

Since using these products my skin has become much softer and smoother and it’s definitely in much better shape. In fact my skin has become so soft I have to admit that I find myself spending a lot of time stroking it! I wouldn’t say my skin is perfect yet, but I will continue with this range and maybe even incorporate more products into my routine.

I’m not going to lie this is an expensive skin care brand, but at least there are plenty of online discounts to bring the price down a little. However, one thing I’m really enjoying is the luxury element and I love spending the time working these in to my skin. It might be tough on my bank balance but at least my skin is appreciating it! Although, I can’t help wishing the much cheaper Botanics range was my go to brand… then I could spend more money on make up!

Suz x

