Tags

, , ,

Fals2 cooked

Mixed bean falafels

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of falafels, but I’ve only ever bought the frozen variety so when I spotted a simple falafel recipe in my latest Good Food magazine I decided to bite the bullet and finally have a go at making them from scratch.

Soya bean falafels

Soya bean falafels

I didn’t have all the ingredients to hand but this recipe is easily adaptable and is very much one of those chuck it all in the mixer types, which is what you want midweek. And after only a few minutes of blitzing the mixture can then be shaped. I used a mixture of flour and semolina to coat the falafels then I left them overnight to chill before shallow frying them for a few minutes either side.Fals 2 mixed

Mixed bean falafels

Mixed bean falafels

The recipe doesn’t mention semolina, but I think they give a lovely crunchy texture so I really recommend this step.Fals cookedI’ve made this recipe twice and the first time I used mixed beans instead of frozen peas, coriander instead of mint and lime juice instead of lemon juice. I didn’t have any peanut butter so I added a teaspoon of chilli mustard instead, which gave it a nice bit of heat.

Fals 2 texture

Fals cut

Soya bean falafels

For the second batch I used soya beans and I found the mixture was much better to handle when using the soya beans, although I did add 200g instead of recommend 100g but when cooked the falafels were much drier.FalafelsHowever, when I used the mixed beans it gave a much wetter mixture which meant the falafels were more moist when cooked so I definitely preferred the first batch.Fals cut open

You can find the original recipe here.

Suz x

