Tags

, , ,

cocoa cakeHi there,

I realised two things last week. 1.) I haven’t featured a cake on the blog for a while and 2.) I haven’t used my new Paul Hollywood British Baking book yet. So after consulting with the Husband we decided we would make a coffee and whiskey cake together, or an Irish Cream cake as its better known in the book. Mix

Smooth mix

TinThis is a really simple cake to make as essentially it’s just a layer cake with a whiskey cream filling and topping, but what made it interesting was the flavours, which work really well together, and the additional step of soaking the sponge with a coffee and whiskey syrup.Sponge

Soaked spongeIf you’re short on time then this is the perfect cake to bake as it doesn’t take long to make and it’s even quicker with help! I found the sponges to be a bit denser than I expected, but I think this is because if it was too light and airy the sponge wouldn’t be able to soak up all the syrup and it may become soggy.Sandwich layers

Sliced cake

Open cakeHowever, the taste is really delicious, especially the cream. If you like tiramisu, you’ll love this cake. I’m sure I’ll make this cake again, but next time I would be tempted to add a bit of texture. I like the idea of adding some broken up flake either mixed in with the cream or arranged artfully on the top.

Suz x

