Tags

, , , , , , , ,

DSC_5481Hi there,

Nuxe

Nuxe texture

Lips
It’s that time of year when your lips go all dry and crusty so a good lip balm is essential. However, one lip balm I won’t be reaching for is the Nuxe Reve De Miel Lip Balm. The only thing I liked about this product was the honey and citrus smell. I didn’t find this at all hydrating and I didn’t like how heavy this felt on the lips. I’ve only used this a few times, but it’s already dried out so it’s going straight in the bin.

DSC_5477Another lip balm which failed to live up to its promise and probably the biggest disappointment of 2014 is the Bite Agave Lip Mask in Champagne. I’m a big fan of Bite beauty normally but there isn’t much I like about this product. I find it really difficult to get out of the tube as it seems to solidify and the only thing that seems to get it moving again is to leave it on the radiator to soften. However, even when I can get it out of the tube it offered no moisture. In fact I find it so thick and gloopy on the lips that I can’t wait to rub it off. I didn’t see much in the way of pigmentation either, so it definitely isn’t worth $26. I guess you win some, you lose some.

Face maskSkincare
I thought the Borghese Fango Active Mud for Face and Body might be a contender for my Glamglow Super Mud Mask but this mask doesn’t even come close and considering that I paid over £20 it’s pretty disappointing. I use this mask once a week in the bath as it’s pretty messy. However, my main gripe is with how it feels on the skin once it’s been applied. I find that it burns my skin for a minute or so which isn’t very pleasant. I’m not sure whether this is supposed to happen or whether my skin is too sensitive for it, so even though it leaves my skin feeling soft and clean I can’t get past the burning sensation.

PaiI had high hopes for the Pai Chamomile & Rosehip Calming Day Cream as I was looking to use more natural and organic products and this brand seemed to tick all the boxes as well as claiming to reduce redness. However less than two weeks after I started using this moisturiser I started getting unsightly white bumps on my forehead, which only went away once I’d stopped using it. This was a shame as I liked both the texture and the smell of this moisturiser as well as the ethics behind the company.

I also found the Pai Organic Kukui & Jojoba Bead Skin Brightening Exfoliator a big disappointment as it was far too gentle and I didn’t feel like it made much difference to my skin.

Hair maskHair
The Aestelance Mud Mask is another expensive product that didn’t deliver apart make my head itch every time I used it. I didn’t notice any massive improvement after using it so I’ll stick with my favourite treatment oil and It’s a 10 conditioner in future.

Suz x

