Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_5449Hi there,

I’m a little late to the party with the second part of my beauty favourites even though I started to write this post over two weeks ago. But as there were quite a few products to get through I decided to revisit them all and only include the products which I thought truly deserved their place.

DSC_5455

(L-R) Nude, Honey and Dim Light

Foundation: I never skimp when it comes to foundation and always spend around £30 as this is what works for me. I have tried cheaper foundations, but I normally end up giving them away after only a few uses as I can never achieve a smooth, flawless base.This is the second year running that my Young Blood Mineral Powder foundation has topped my yearly favourites and again nothing came close to beating this is 2014. If you’re looking for a powder that gives great coverage and feels light on the skin then give this one a go.

I started using Jouer products in 2014 and it ended up being one of my favourite brands. I am a big fan of the Matte Moisture Tint and have used it almost constantly since September. Even though this is classed as a tinted moisturiser it gives great coverage and is another product which feels lovely and light on the skin. I use the colour Nude and this is the perfect colour for my fair neutral skin tone. I’ve had no shine issues with this foundation or any problems with it sliding off my face come lunch time. This is definitely a re-purchase product.

Another product to make my favourites list for the second year running is the Hourglass Ambient Powder in Dim Light. I use this every day to set my foundation and it does a great job at making my make up looking amazing and ensuring it lasts throughout the day. Out of all the products this is the one I can’t live without!DSC_5458Cheeks: I have fallen completely in love with the Kevyn Aucoin Bronzing Veil in Tropical Days and have used this pretty much every day since last May. This product is a bronzer and highlighter in one and gives the most lovely sunkissed glow.

The powder is finely milled and it has great lasting power and pigmentation. At £38 it’s expensive but you can also use it as an eyeshadow so technically it’s a multi-use product which means you can justify the price tag! And it’s even better if you manage to get £10 off in the twice a year special offer from Space NK.

DSC_5459Back in February I bought the Jouer Blushing Beauty Palette and I have been so impressed with the cheek tint in Whisper. This is a beautiful pink cream blush with a golden sheen running through. I like to wear this both on its own and over Tropical Days and it gives a lovely flush of colour. It can also be worn on the lips, although it does need to be reapplied throughout the day. As you can see these products have had a lot of love over the last year so these will be re-purchases in 2015.DSC_5444Lips: I am a big fan of lip balms so the two brands that have really stuck out and worked wonders on my dry lips are the Fresh Advanced Lip Therapy Lip Balm and the Bite Whipped Exfoliating Scrub. Both products leave my lips feeling hydrated and super soft and what’s more they smell amazing. They don’t feel greasy or heavy on the lips which a lot of lip balms tend to do. Out of the two the Fresh Lip Balm is my favourite but I hope to try some of the tinted versions later this year.

DSC_5445

DSC_54472014 was also the year I became infatuated with Bite lipsticks. I can’t get enough of these. I love the colours and the formula although if I had a choice I would choose the formula of the Luminous Crème Lipstick over the High Pigmentation pencil as they are slightly more hydrating. I won’t be happy until I have every colour! My only gripe with these lipsticks is that the bullets in the small duos sizes break really easily so that’s worth bearing in mind when choosing which size to get.

Lychee, Musk, Rose, Palomino, Violet, Pomegranate

Lychee, Musk, Rose, Palomino, Violet, Pomegranate

DSC_5450

Whisper cheek tint and Cherish lipgloss

Whisper cheek tint and Cherish lipgloss

As a rule I’m not a big fan of lipglosses as I don’t like how they feel on my lips. Some can be quite gloopy and sticky on the lips, but Jouer lipglosses seem to be the exception. They have great pigmentation and feel really nice on the lips. Cherish is a pink lipgloss with a gold sheen running through so it looks great over Whisper and other nude lipsticks. All I’ll say is one is not enough and at the very least I need a red lipgloss and a berry one.MUG allEyeshadow: I’m a big fan of eyeshadow but this year I have discovered two new brands I can’t get enough of: Make Up Geek and Tarte. I own a few of the foiled eyeshadows and wow, I literally gasp everytime I swatch these beauties as the colours are amazing.

(L-R) flame Thrower, Mezmorised, Grandstand and Houdini

(L-R) Foil shadows – Flame Thrower, Mezmorised, Grandstand and Houdini

(L-R) Burlesque, Prom Night, Mermaid and Pixie Dust

(L-R) Burlesque, Prom Night, Mermaid and Pixie Dust

There are also three shades in the Tarte Amazonian Rainforest Palette which are amazing and which I can’t get enough of. However, I don’t know if you can get hold of these or whether they are only available in this palette.

 

DSC_5443

Shadow swatches

Make a Mauve (2nd left), Plum Away With Me (Centre), Up to No Gold (4th left)

Primer

Primer: This Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer is my HG primer as it’s a great base for applying make up. Everytime I use this my skin and make up look absolutely amazing. This primer is really expensive so I tend to buy the smaller size as I don’t mind spending £20, but I can’t bring myself to spend £52. This is definitely one to ration so I only use this on special occasions or when I want to look like I’ve made an effort.

Brush

Tools: I have been trying to get hold of a Sigma F80 and in 2014 I finally managed to get my hands on one. This is a great brush, which is super soft and doesn’t shed. I tend to use this only for liquid foundations as it gives a flawless finish and buffs in the foundation beautifully. I’d love to invest in some other Sigma brushes so any recommendations would be really helpful!

DSC_5470

Brush cleaner: I’m really lazy when it comes to cleaning my make up brushes, but luckily I managed to come across this daily brush cleaner from Sephora which is both quick and easy to use. This product keeps my brushes looking cleaning and in great shape until I can give them a much deeper clean. And what’s more it mini sized.

Suz x

