Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 DSC_5437Happy New Year fellow beauty lovers… I hope 2015 is a great year for everyone.

Over the last year I wouldn’t like to add up how much I’ve spent on beauty products even with all the discounts I’ve got. But I’ve certainly had a lot of fun experimenting with new brands, colours and formulas. Of course there have been a few disappointing products along the way, but you always live in hope of finding a HD product and it’s very satisfying when you do.

DSC_5426Haircare:

I’ve made a concerted effort to look after my hair more this last year and I’ve found some amazing products. I discovered the Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment back in 2013, but it’s still one of my favourite products which I use almost every time I wash my hair. This is great for treating split ends and my hair always feels healthy and nourished after using.

DSC_5423One product on my wish list was the It’s a 10 miracle leave in product so I was really excited to find this in Target when we visited Seattle last year. Priced at $22 I thought it was a tad expensive, but I’m so glad I didn’t put it back as I absolutely love this product. I use this after the healing oil and it’s great for detangling my long hair, but more importantly it leaves it incredibly soft and shiny. It doesn’t get rid of the frizz completely but it’s definitely better than any other products. I’m already half way through the bottle which makes me sad, but I’ve already looked for a replacement and thankfully you can get it on Amazon.

DSC_5422I’m always interested to see what beauty products hotels provide and when we stayed in New York I came across American brand Malin and Goetz and to be honest with its white packaging I would have given this a miss – sad but true! I decided to give the shampoo and conditioner a go with no expectations and I have to say that I was completely blown away with how soft, shiny and healthy this duo left my hair. The shampoo is also very good if you suffer with an itchy scalp as the peppermint is very soothing. The only negative is the price – £16.50 a bottle, but I will definitely be buying the full sizes.

DSC_5427I haven’t used much dry shampoo this year but this Toni and Guy one seems to be the only one that doesn’t irritate my scalp. It’s also very good at leaving my hair looking clean and refreshed so for those lazy days this is my go to product.

DSC_5418Perfume:

Diptyque is my favourite brand of perfume. It’s expensive, but definitely worth it as it makes you feel a million dollars and is one of those scents which lingers on the skin. Of the two Do Son is probably the stronger of the two, but it’s absolutely gorgeous and it’s all time favorite scent. I hope this will be my signature scent for a long time.

DSC_5419I’m also a big fan of Lancôme’s La Vie Est Belle and Fresh’s Sugar Lemon so if sweeter scents are more your style then check these out. I finished the La Vie Est Belle in record time so I will definitely be going back for more.

DSC_5428Bath and Body:

I haven’t experimented too much with body products this year mainly because I’ve been happy with the Rose and Honey range from Rituals and the Garnier oil beauty range. Of the two the Honey Touch body cream is my favourite but at £17 a tub it’s expensive. I managed to get mine for half price in the sales last year, but I wish I’d bought a couple of tubs as it smells amazing (I don’t normally like anything that smells of rose) and the cream just melts into the skin. The foaming shower gel is also great and it’s lasted me ages.

DSC_5432A good alternative to the Rituals range is the Garnier body lotion and body scrub. I’m a big fan of oil based products so these are very nourishing and kind to the skin, especially after a work-out session. I’m not a massive fan of the scent, but for the price I can live with that.

DSC_5434Skincare:

I love skincare, but I haven’t discovered any new treatments, cleansers or moisturisers that have changed my routine for the better. Aromatherapy Associates are still my go to brand, but the discounts are getting harder to find so I may have to bite the bullet and pay full price for some items.

DSC_5424This is my third bottle of the Refining Face Oil and this stuff is amazing. Whenever my skin is looking ropey I pull this one out and it clears up in no time. At £42 it’s expensive so I’m always on the lookout for a cheaper dupe, but in 2015 I think I’m going to stick with what I know works even if the price makes me wince.

When it comes to mud masks nothing beats the Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment. I love this stuff as it does what it says on the tin and this will continue to be one of my stables. No looking for dupes with this one.

I’ve recently come across a Glam Glow cleansing oil online, although it’s not available in the UK so that is definitely on the wish list for 2015.

Coming up in part two – make up, lip treatments and make up tools

Suz x

