Tags

, , ,

 Baked non crownHi there,

It’s been a while since I did any baking and now that I’ve got my oven back I thought I’d spend some time this weekend making some bread and getting re-acquainted with my relatively new food mixer. So after spending some time flicking through the best bread book I own I decided on Paul Hollywood’s Savoury Brioche Couronne. Bread mix

DoughI’ve never made brioche before so I was intrigued to give it a go and as this is quite a wet dough I was happy to finally get my mixer dirty. It does take quite a while for this dough to come together, but this might because I’m new to using a food mixer so I may not have turned it on high enough or for long enough.

Prove 1

After first prove.

Bread filling

Split

Crown

Getting ready for a second prove.

Prove 2

After 1.5 hours the bread has more than doubled.

This dough needs to prove twice and when it came to creating the crown the dough was still slightly sticky so I think I could have worked the dough a little bit more at the start of the process to make sure it was smooth and more pliable.

Baking

A lovely sight…

But the wait was definitely worth it as this is a great enriched dough bread with a very tasty filling – serrano ham, mozzarella pearls and fresh basil. And I especially enjoyed the parmesan crust. The only issue I had was with the dough spreading during cooking so it didn’t look like a crown when it came out. But I was just happy that the dough was light and airy and that it tasted great.Close upThis bread can be served hot or cold and I will definitely be making it again. However, next time I will add some blue cheese, black olives and chilli as I think it can take the extra ingredients.

Sliced

Sliced 2

A light and airy texture.

I’m planning to make some French toast over the Christmas break and for that I’ll need to make some dark chocolate and satsuma brioche so what this space…

Suz x

