Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi there,

It will come as no surprise that one of the things I was looking forward to most on our recent holiday was the chance to try lots of new food and flavours. And let me tell you Vancouver didn’t disappoint.

I also had a new camera to play around with so you can guess the outcome… yes lots of food and drink pictures. So I thought it would be fun to do a post on the top 5 places to visit in Vancouver.

Meat and Bread for best sandwich/lunch option: This was on my list of places to visit and luckily we were only a few streets away. And what a treat it was. There were only three sandwiches to choose from so it was the perfect menu as I was able to choose what I was having straight away, something which never happens with me.

Meat and Bread

As soon as I saw the joints of meat roasting away in the oven I knew this place was going to be good and so with a smile on my face I chose the spiced beer lime turkey sandwich with red onion, cabbage slaw and garlic lime mayo (gosh it sounds amazing just thinking about it even now) and my husband went for the corned beef, pickled cabbage and mayo. And they didn’t stint on the portions either so at around $18 for both sandwiches they were not only filling, but great value as well.

Meast&Bread.2This is definitely up there for the best sandwich award and in fact we loved it so much we went back the next day, but unfortunately it was a Saturday so they were closed. Another thing to point out was how friendly this place was. I asked if I could take a photo of my sandwiches and they were good enough to lay out them for me to get the perfect shot.

If you’re ever in Vancouver then this place needs to go top of your list and it rightly deserves all the great reviews on TripAdvisor.

Chill Winston

Chill Winston for best evening meal: After spending a fair amount of time wandering around Gastown trying to decide where to eat dinner we finally managed to stumble on this place and what a delight it was. Friday evening in Chill Winston was definitely an experience as there was so much energy about the place. All the outside seats were full but we got a great seat by the window so I was able to indulge in my favourite past time after eating and shopping and that is people watching much to my Husband’s annoyance!

DSC_4140

DSC_4146As soon as I saw the menu I knew I wanted to eat here and again I was able to choose pretty quickly. First off was the most refreshing gin and tonic I’ve ever had closely followed by a delightfully light, but unusual strawberry, avocado and blueberry salad. Then it was on to the best burger of the holiday if not ever – a bison burger – which doesn’t look all that in the photo, but let me tell you it was so juicy and full of flavor, and I enjoyed every mouthful. However, as much as I enjoyed my burger there was definitely some food envy going on as my husband chose an amazing fish dish, which not only looked great, but tasted even better. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?

DSC_4145

Fish dish

Elephant and Castle

Elephant and Castle for best value: Out of all the places we chose to eat in Vancouver this is the meal that has stayed with me the most, mainly because it was the first place we visited after we’d arrived in Vancouver. This pub was really relaxed and we enjoyed listening to the live jazz music as we tucked into our fish tacos, butter chicken curry and bottle of wine, which luckily for us was half price at $19.

Fish Tacos

Top wine

The staff were very friendly and it was a really enjoyable experience considering it was technically 5am UK time (9pm Canadian time) and meant we had been up pretty much 24 hours by this point. Overall the food was surprisingly tasty considering it wasn’t very expensive and although not a big wine drinker I managed to get through 2 large glasses pretty quickly and I would say this is my favourite white wine to date. I only wish it was available in the UK!

Bella Gelateria

Bella Gelateria for best Ice Cream: We came across this place by accident after we saw a lot of people queuing up around 10pm mid-way through our stay. We assumed that it was a night club, but luckily for us we discovered that it was an award winning Ice cream parlour so of course we had to give it a go.

DSC_4129

Ice cream 2

There were tons of flavours to choose from, never a good idea in my book, but I eventually managed to choose chocolate cherry, mint choc chip and Italian honey and nouget and my husband chose the Italian honey one and Earl Grey. What I loved most about this ice cream was the texture as it was so creamy and full of bits to munch on. I just wished I’d chosen the Earl Grey flavour, there’s definitely a theme going on here, as it was so fruity and delishious.

DSC_4170

ManCakes Bakery for best cupcakes: Our first cake of the holiday came on the last night of our stay in Vancouver before attending a football game at Vancouver Whitecaps. We were intrigued by the wacky flavours – breakfast, chocolate red wine, and buffalo wing, but in the end we chose the relatively safe option of whiskey and lime and rum and coke.

Whiskey and lime cupcake

Whiskey and lime cupcake

Mancake

Rum and coke cupcake

Rum and coke cupcake

Both the sponges were super light and held a hidden surprise filling, but what we enjoyed most was the topping which instead of the standard buttercream was almost marshmallow in texture so I definitely want to recreate this at home.

Suz x

