Tags

, , ,

 Berry pavlova.completeHi there, 

I like to try and upload posts on my blog twice a week but for some reason I’ve had a complete mental block when writing this post and it’s been sitting in my inbox for a couple of weeks now. I’m not sure why, but it just didn’t seem to want to write itself, so apologises for the lack of posts on my blog over the last couple of weeks.

Berry side onMaking a Pavlova has been on my to do list for a while now. This was mainly because we were due to make one in our last baking class. However, things never pan out as planned and so when the class was cancelled it was one of those things that was on my list, but never quite made it to the top.

Glossy mixBut following weeks of glorious sunshine I thought it would make the perfect summer dessert so I set about looking for a recipe. I finally decided on Greg Wallace’s Strawberry Pavlova as the recipe seemed so simple to follow and I also wanted to see how using white wine vinegar affected the texture of the meringue.

Texture

So a few days after finding the recipe I loaded up on blueberries, strawberries and blackberries and got to work on creating the perfect Pavlova and of course by this point the sun disappeared and the rain started…

Baked

This recipe was really simple to follow and as you can see the meringue was really glossy. Thankfully I had no disasters with the base or with it collapsing once it was cooked, although there were a few cracks. This recipe is easily adaptable to using other fruits. I didn’t use strawberries in the end because I wanted to make some forest of the fruit coulis so I thought mixed berries would complement the coulis more.

Sliced pavlovaThis is the second time I’ve made Pavlova and this time it was much more successful. I’m convinced this is in part to the white wine vinegar as it gave the meringue a lovely mallow, slightly chewy texture. Overall I was really happy with the end result. Although on the down side it’s not completely symmetrical, but you can’t have everything!

Sliced pavlova with fruit

In the end this was a huge dessert so it is great for parties. I gave most of mine away so there were lots of happy people once we’d dished it all out.

Suz

