Tags

, , ,

duo cakesHi there,

You may remember my post from a few weeks back on the courgette and orange cake I made, which I slightly overcooked. Well, over the weekend I decided to give it another go as I wanted to see whether it was my oven or the timings in the magazine which were out.

Mix7

However, I couldn’t resist making a few tweaks to the original recipe so I decided to split the cake in half and bake them in two 1lb tins. And to try and make the cake extra moist I used a mixture of grated courgette and carrot and I soaked the raisins in orange juice beforehand.

Uncooked cake2

This cake is supposed to be ready in 50 minutes on 160 when using a fan oven, but in my oven it needed a lot longer and unfortunately I ended up overbaking the cake so it was slightly dry. This time I was determined to end up with a light and moist bake so I initially put it on for 25 minutes and kept checking every 10 minutes thereafter. And finally after it had been in the oven for a whopping 55 minutes, which is five minutes longer than the original 2lb loaf tin recipe, the cakes were ready.

Baked cake

In my opinion I think the timings are definitely out in the magazine. However, this is one cake which is worth persevering with as it was wonderfully moist, light and not too sweet, and the topping is just divine. On the plus side this cake contains 3 of your 5-a-day so in my eyes this can be classed as a ‘healthy cake’ that is so long as you ignore all the sugar!

Sliced

I’d say this is a good alternative to carrot cake as it’s not as dense or sweet so I will definitely be making it again although I will probably make a few more tweaks. For example, I am tempted to soak the fruit in some orange liqueur or maybe even some rum the night before so it has more time to soak up the liquid and there’s no reason why I have to stick with raisons. I might use cranberries, dates or apricots instead. And to add more texture there’s always the option of adding some walnuts or even shredded coconut.

Give it a go you won’t be disappointed.

Suz x

