Tags

, , , , ,

Cooked loaf

Hi lovelies,

I have another bread post for you today and not only is it really quick and simple to make it also tastes pretty good too. I first came across this recipe while flicking through my bread book last week and I was intrigued to give it a go as I wanted to see how the stout affected the taste.

Loaf

With this loaf you don’t need to add yeast and it doesn’t need to be kneaded or to prove as the bicarbonate of soda and buttermilk do all the hard work meaning that after just 10 minutes it’s ready to go in the oven. Essentially this is just a variation of Soda bread, which is one of my favourite breads to make when I don’t have much time.

So in no time at all I was able to give this one a try. I found the addition of the stout darkened the loaf as well as altering the flavor, but in a good way. I think the stout adds a lovely sweetness to the bread and I didn’t find it at all bitter. If I made this again I would probably add some mixed seeds.

Sliced loaf

We enjoyed ours with a roast pork and stuffing joint, which I forgot to take a photo of, as I find this type of meal is perfect on a hot sunny day.

You can find the recipe on the bbc website

Suz x

