Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 RSHi lovelies,

First off, apologies for the amount of time between posts. Life has been really hectic of late and to top it off my baking class finished a week early which meant I had to complete my baking portfolio and revise for four written tests. So sadly it was my blog which took the hit. However, I have lots of posts planned; it’s just a case of finding the time to write them all up!

As well as attending a works leaving party for three people last Wednesday I was also looking forward to taking last Thursday afternoon off to go see a band in Manchester. Now I’m not really much of a gig person, but my husband has cottoned on to the fact that if he takes me to a nice restaurant and lets me visit Space NK and Selfridges then I will pretty much agree to anything and he’s been making the most of it.

Temperance Movement

Temperance Movement

Back in April we went to see a rock band called Temperance Movement and they were supported by a band called Brother and Bones and I have to admit that I had a really great time. I love dance music so it takes a lot for me to appreciate any other style, but the lead vocalist had such an amazing voice that I was instantly converted and I loved pretty much all of their songs. They’re currently opening the show for the Rolling Stones so I think they’re going to get pretty big in the near future!

Temp M2

 http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtAZTgaog9o%20

 http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oDe7gNfFY0w

The Grill on New York Street

The Grill on New York Street

This time we were going to see a band called Rival Sons, another rock band who are from California. And the carrot this time was the chance to visit a new place called The Grill on New York Street , which I was secretly very excited about. The restaurant was very funky (IMO) and having decided what I was going to eat well before we arrived, it wasn’t too stressful or annoying for the husband as I normally take forever to decide what I’m going to eat.

How posh does this juice look?

How posh does this juice look?

As last Thursday was so sunny I couldn’t resist ordering a refreshing watermelon and guava juice and this was accompanied by potted smoked trout with pickled cucumber, and flatbread. And as it was a grill bar it was only right that I ordered a steak. I was really impressed with both the food and the service and I have to say that the steak was definitely up there in my top two, although I don’t think anything will ever beat the steak I had at the Mount Nelson hotel in Cape Town back in 2010. Ahh, memories…

Potted smoked trout

Potted smoked trout

 

Steak and chips

Steak and chips

 

That's what you call a juicy steak

That’s what you call a juicy steak

I was further excited by the news that we would be getting a 25% discount as my husband had signed up for a member’s card and as you know I love getting a discount! That said I would totally pay full price for the food here as it was really tasty and very reasonably priced. For once in my life I even managed to resist ordering dessert and to be honest I’m still sad about it as I love cherries and I definitely love chocolate.

The dessert menu looked fab?

The dessert menu looked fab

 

Jameson

Jameson

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ffrvAPf_wLE

Cool gig venue

Cool gig venue

After eating we made our way over to the Gorilla in Manchester which is a really cool, but intimate venue and we were treated to some great warm up music. First off an American lad called Jameson took to the stage and I have to say he was really awesome. I would describe his music as more blues than rock and I would definitely go see him again as he was great. Up second was a young rock band from London called Crystal Seagulls. They were very confident on stage, had great energy and sung some really fab songs, which I enjoyed.

 http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BOhJQeMMEL8

Rival Sons

Rival Sons

Rival Sons took to the stage around 9.30 and I have to admit by this point I was really shattered and feeling more than a little grumpy, sorry husband. I had been up since 5am and I needed to be up for work again at 6am and I knew we wouldn’t be home until after well after midnight so it was a really long day.  

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NN8b5u_t4ek

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KucD42RAPJk

Rival Sons

Rival Sons

I really wanted to love this band as I’d enjoyed everything else, but sadly the music was just a little too heavy rock for me. One song I do love though is called Wild Animal, but they didn’t play it that night. But I can’t knock the lead vocalist JayBuchanan. He has an absolutely tremendous voice. My husband loves this band so I’m sure we’ll be seeing them again and next time I will be sure to get more sleep beforehand! It will also give me chance to check out  the stunning buildings in Manchester.

Building

I love the architecture in Manchester

I love the architecture in Manchester

I think the husband has a few more bands lined up his sleeve and I’ve already hinted that I’d like to go see Temperance Movement again so I’m looking forward to seeing what restaurants he takes me to next.Suz x

