Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Seed 2

Hi lovelies,

Sorry for lack of posts last week. I was busy experimenting with some new recipes as well as catching up with a few friends and so I didn’t get chance to write anything up. However in between practicing for my soufflé assessment I managed to find some time and I can now show you what I’ve been up to.

Seeds

Following on from my vegan brownies a few weeks back I’ve been doing lots of research on how I can cut back on my sugar intake and after stumbling across one of the most inspirational food blogs I was inspired to make my own seed bars. I always have lots of store cupboard ingredients on hand for my baking so although I didn’t have the exact ingredients I was still able to give it a good go.

ingredients

And the beauty of these bars is that they’re incredibly quick and simple to make, and you can chuck in whatever you like. However, you will need a food processor.

Seed mixed

The first time I made these bars I used the following:

  • sunflower seeds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • ground flax seed
  • brazil nuts
  • walnuts
  • cranberries
  • desiccated coconut
  • dates
  • mixed fruit
  • pecans
  • 1 tsp golden syrup (to bind everything together)

Seed single

Seed cake

Obviously I have a few naughty ingredients in there so they’re not completely sugar free but as I didn’t have any coconut oil I needed something to bind everything together. However, I still think these are a much healthier alternative to shop bought ones. Well that’s my excuse!

Seed tin

For my second attempt I used:

  • sunflower seeds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • ground flax seed
  • walnuts
  • hazelnuts
  • dried cranberries
  • desiccated coconut
  • dates
  • mixed fruit
  • a few squares of dark chocolate with almonds
  • 3tbsp water

Seed 2 group

I am a big fan of carrot cake and I have managed to find a recipe for raw carrot cake bars so I am really excited to try these out. Give them a go you won’t be disappointed! The recipe and blog can be found here.

Seed cut

Suz x

