Tags

, , , ,

TrufflesAs tempting as it is to buy a box of chocolates to give away as a gift I always like to make my own as I think it makes them extra special. I also love to make a mess playing with all kinds of moulds, flavours and toppings. So with a couple of birthdays looming I decided to make some chocolate orange truffles. These truffles are so cheap and easy to make and what’s more they taste delicious and look great.

Chocolate stack

And since a recent shopping trip to purchase one item ended up with me buying around 12 blocks of chocolate (why does this always happen to me?) I desperately needed to get it out of the house before I could start raiding the cupboard.

In the end I decided to use the same chocolate base for all my truffles as I was short of time, but you could use any flavor combination.

Ingredients:
200g dark chocolate (mine was flavoured with orange)
150g double cream
25g butter

Method:
1. Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water.
2. In a separate pan, melt the butter and cream. Bring to the boil.
3. Carefully stir into the chocolate and whisk until cool and thick.
4. Leave to chill or freeze overnight depending on how firm you want the truffle mixture to be

Choc mould

So once you’ve got your truffle mixture you can be as creative as you like and this is where the fun starts. After rolling the mixture into balls I used a combination of desiccated coconut, cocoa powder and vermicelli to cover the chocolate balls but alternatively you could use chopped nuts or dip them in some white, milk or dark chocolate. As it was Easter last weekend I decided to melt some milk chocolate into a little egg mould so I could also make some belated Easter truffles as well.

choc mould truffles

Lately I’ve been getting more interested in dairy free and sugar free alternatives (I’m currently trying to hold back on buying the How I quit Sugar by Sarah Wilson as I have so many recipe books) so I would be interested to see if you could make some sugar and dairy free chocolate truffles and if they tasted just as good. I know you can buy sugar free chocolate and dairy free margarine but I’m not sure what the taste and texture would be like using the margarine and I’ve never used dairy free cream. So it is definitely one to try in the future!

Suz x

