Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hot Chocolate

The perfect hot chocolate

Hi there,

As you probably know by now I love food but with a holiday in the Lake District coming up I decided to cut back a few weeks before to be able to enjoy all the meals out. So after copious amounts of cereal, rice cakes, cup a soup and minimal chocolate I was definitely ready to live it up for a few days. And what better way to start a holiday than with a hot chocolate followed by some lunch.

Beef burger

I know… a double burger but I didn’t eat it all!

I always like to make an effort on a Sunday so at home we always have a proper Sunday lunch and last Sunday was no exception when we rolled up at The Queen’s Head in Troutbeck on a very dark and wet day. After a chicken liver parfait starter I then went for the slow cooked duck leg with potato, duck rissoles, pan-fried livers and spiced red cabbage with a cassis and black cherry sauce. And very filling it was indeed, but it did me a favour and I managed to resist dessert afterwards. My husband decided to go with a trusted favourite and opted for the Oxtail and Venison cottage pie with a red berry and port sauce and vegetables. Very tasty but it would have been far too filling for me as it’s quite a big portion.

Duck

Duck Leg

 

Oxtail and venison

Oxtail and venison cottage pie

We had a day off from eating out but made do with my favourite blue cheese – Cambazola, Booth’s Black Forest ham pate and crackers as well as some lovely but very affordable chardonnay from Aldi.

Cambozola and damson cheese

Cambazola cheese with damson cheese jam

However the real highlight was when we visited Zefferelli’s in Ambleside for our meal/film deal. We went to see Cuban Fury which was very funny and I highly recommend it. After the film we walked to the restaurant as it was pizza time! I went for the goat’s cheese, roasted red pepper, rocket and pine nuts with some sneaky blue cheese as sometimes goat’s cheese can be a bit strong. Normally I only eat half a pizza so luckily the husband was on hand to have a share. We only ordered one dessert all week, which is unheard of for us, and we both opted for the chocolate and coffee sundae but I had to admit defeat and my husband finished it off for me.

Pizza

Wholemeal pizza

 

Sundae

Chocolate and coffee sundae

Wednesday was a real lazy day and after a morning of reading and chilling out we spent the afternoon in one of our favourite pubs, Tweedies in Grasmere, having lunch. I discovered Lilley’s fabulous strawberry cider and enjoyed quite a few of those while happily tweeting as I had Wifi for the first time in almost five days.  

ploughmans

Ploughman’s Lunch

Thursday is market day in Keswick so we decided to drive over in the morning to check it out. Keswick is a lovely little town with some great shops and it’s the perfect excuse to do a little bit of shopping! First stop was the coffee shop and a hazelnut latte before dashing over to White Stuff to try on as many clothes as possible before my husband got fed up. I‘m not ashamed to admit that I was on a mission as everything in store was 20% off plus I had a gift voucher from Christmas still to spend. A little while later I left with a new  skirt in the most amazing mustard/lime colour and a lightweight top in hot coral, which is just stunning and will be perfect for our holiday to Canada and USA later this year.

Keswick

Keswick

On our last visit to Keswick we’d found a great little pub which we promised to visit next time so as we’d had no breakfast we headed over to the Dog and Gun for their Hungarian Beef Goulash, which was very tasty and good value for money. Again the husband got extra as it was far too big for me.

Christmas pudding hot chocolate

Christmas pudding hot chocolate

As my mother-in-law and sister-in-law were spending the last night with us at the cottage we decided to take them to Tweedies for tea as it would be my last chance to sample the strawberry cider!  This time I opted for the Wild Boar burger with date and apple chutney, spiced red cabbage and potato and sweet potato wedges. My husband also ordered some onion rings, which were absolutely huge.

Boar burger

Boar burger with wedges

 

Onion rings

Huge onion rings

It was the perfect end to a lovely, relaxing holiday. I only wish the days went this quick at work! Unfortunately it’s back to reality and the rice cakes and cup a soup are already sat waiting for me!

Suz x

