Tags

,

 

 

Lemon drizzle

 

Hi there,

I love lemon and I love cake but I’ve never been a fan of lemon drizzle cake as I find it too tart for my tastes. So when I found out that it was one of the options in my baking class this last week I was slightly disappointed. We had a choice of three cakes to make: cherry and almond, chocolate chip and lemon drizzle cake. Normally my first choice would be chocolate chip but as I’m currently on a chocolate ban (it’s not going very well!) I decided to take a risk and opt for the lemon cake as I figured that if my teacher’s recipe couldn’t convert me then nothing would.

We used two 1lb loaf tins to make the cakes, which is the perfect size as you can either give one away or freeze it for another time. At home I only have 2lb loaf tins so I will definitely be buying a couple of the smaller sizes. In the smaller tins these cakes only take 45 minutes to cook and after adding some lemon juice and sugar to soak through they are ready.

Lemon cut

The lemon curd adds a lovely marbled effect

To my surprise I absolutely loved this bake. The cake is soft and light and to reduce the tartness I added slightly more sugar to the lemon juice. However, for me the difference was the addition of lemon curd which added a lovely sweetness and texture to the cake. Sadly this cake didn’t last very long but it is a very versatile recipe with lots of flavour combinations you could add to alter the cake. You could try adding orange, lime, lemon and lime or you could simply add some raspberries or other fruit. I can’t wait to make this one again.

Lemony Loaf recipe:

  • 225g caster sugar
  • 75g butter
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 1 egg
  • 225g self raising flour
  • 150ml milk

Topping:

  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 level tablespoons of caster sugar 

 Method:

  1. Grease and line the tin
  2. Beat the sugar and butter together until the mixture resembles desiccated coconut.
  3. Beat in the lemon rind with the egg, then sift the flour and stir into the mixture with the milk.
  4. Turn the cake mixture into the prepared tin, leaving a slight hollow.
  5. Bake the cake at 180C/350F/gas mark 4 for 45 minutes to one hour, depending on which cake tin you use (1lb or 2lb loaf tin) until well risen and golden brown.
  6. While the cake is cooking, mix together the lemon juice and sugar.
  7. Remove the cake from the oven and pour over the syrup topping. Leave for 10 minutes then remove from the tin and leave to cool on a wire tray. 

 This cake can be frozen for up to three months and needs to thaw for 4 hours.

 Suz x

