Muffins group

Hi there,

When it comes to pineapple (fresh or tinned) I don’t tend to do much other than slap it under some yogurt so in my baking class this week I was really happy to finally get the chance to do something different. We had three hours to make some carrot and pineapple muffins and some chocolate brownies and surprisingly the carrot and pineapple were a winning combination and something I would never have thought of putting together.

Muffins duo

They were incredibly moist and full of flavour, and the icing added the right amount of sweetness. As this was the first time I’d used corn oil I’m not sure how difficult it is to get hold of in the UK. However, I’ve been told that you can substitute it with sunflower oil as this oil doesn’t have any flavour to it.

Muffins split

Normally I wouldn’t spend too much time on the decoration but I had so much fun making all these little marzipan carrots. I think they make the muffins look super cute and so in future I’m going to spend a bit more time on presentation.

Carrots

Marzipan carrots

I will definitely make these muffins again but I think I’m going to attempt a normal carrot cake and try adding some pineapple or mango. Then again I might go one step further and try a lime, coconut, courgette and pineapple cake as I absolutely adore lime and coconut at the moment.

Recipe:

200g finely grated carrot

120ml drained and crushed or chopped pineapple (approx. 4 slices)

250g self raising flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

½ salt

2 tsps ground cinnamon

1 egg

110g soft brown sugar

120ml milk

90ml corn oil

Icing:

60g cream cheese, softened

110g icing sugar, sifted

¼ tsp vanilla essence/flavouring

Method:

  1. Prepare the muffin tins and pre-heat oven to 375-400F or 190-200C.
  2. Prepare the grated carrot and crushed/chopped pineapple.
  3. In a large bowl sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt and cinnamon.
  4. In another bowl beat an egg and add the sugar, milk, carrot, pineapple and oil.
  5. Pour all the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and cut and fold until just combined.
  6. Spoon the mixture into the tins and bake for 20-25 minutes. The tops should be golden and quite firm.
  7. Allow the muffins to cool before icing. Use the back of the spoon to blend icing ingredients together.

Alternatively there is a similar recipe on the good food website which you may want to use.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/68600/carrot-and-pineapple-muffins

Suz x

