Tags

, , ,

Soda cooked

Hi there,

It’s been a couple of weeks since I bought Paul Hollywood’s bread book and I have been pleasantly surprised by how good this book is, and it’s actually one of the few recipe books I’ve read from cover to cover. What I like about this book is that every recipe is accompanied by a picture (one of my bugbears with other recipe books) and that the step by step instructions are easy to follow. I also think it’s a nice touch to add a non-bread recipe alongside as it gives you an idea of what will go with each type of bread.

Uncooked

For my first attempt I decided to make some soda bread. There are very few ingredients needed for this recipe so not only is it quick and easy to make, there is no kneading or lengthy proving time as it uses bicarbonate of soda. It’s also an inexpensive way of getting fresh bread. This type of bread is good to make if you don’t have much time as it only took me around 70 minutes to complete. I also think you can get pretty creative with this one adding mixed fruit, chocolate or nuts.

Texture

I have been so inspired that I plan to make something different from this book every month, which is something I’ve never done before. Next weekend I’m planning to make some Stout bread.

What’s your favourite recipe book and have you even been inspired to try every single recipe?

Suz x

