Tags

, , , , , ,

Group2

Hi there,

My last couple of posts have centred on my favourite products from 2013 so I thought it would be a good idea to list some of the products that I wasn’t so enamoured with. And hopefully you won’t waste your money like I did!

Michael Todd Travel Set in normal to combination: I had great hopes for this travel set as I have combination skin and in fact I was so keen to try this line I even paid for the postage, which is something that doesn’t happen very often with me! From what I can remember I paid around £23 for this set which came with a cleanser, toner, moisturiser, facial scrub, face mask and eye cream and I thought it was good value as they are all decent sizes. Out of the five products the facial scrub was the best product, closely followed by toner, but sadly I was left disappointed by the other products.

MT Cleanser

Although this cleanser smelt nice and left my skin feeling soft it didn’t do much else for me and unfortunately it broke me out on more than one occasion so I had to stop using it.  I think this is better suited for normal skin types so I wouldn’t buy this again.

MT moisturiser and mask

I enjoy a good face mask but I didn’t particularly enjoy using this one, mainly because it felt tight on my face and I did experience a tingly/burning sensation each time I used it. This looks and smells just like pumpkin puree but I didn’t notice any improvement or difference to my skin.

texture

I don’t have much to say about the moisturiser other than it had a nice citrus smell. Again this seemed to be a bit too rich for my skin as it broke me out. I didn’t find the eye cream offensive in any way but again it I didn’t notice any difference or improvement. Even though I didn’t get the best results with this set it hasn’t put me off trying other Michael Todd products. Next time I will try the Acne or oily skin kit alongside the full size Jojoba Charcoal Facial Scrub.

AA

Aromatherapy Associates Mattifying Cleanser:  In 2012 I was feeling very smug about my skincare. I’d just discovered the Aromatherapy Associates range and my skin was loving this cleanser and had never looked better. I soon got through the first bottle and I couldn’t wait to get my hands another one, which I finally did after a slight delay. However, I’m pretty certain that they’ve changed the formula as the second bottle is much runnier and whereas before my skin looked amazing after using this one doesn’t really do that much for me.  That said it could be that my skin has got used to the range so I may give it another go at some point in the future.

Urban Decay Setting Spray: Back in the summer I was driven mad by my make up constantly melting after a few hours. So after much research I decided to buy this travel sized spray to see how I got on. The first morning after I got it I forgot to use it and it didn’t get much better from them on as when I did use it I didn’t like how it sprayed and set on my face. And in the end it didn’t make a blind bit of difference as my make up continued to melt, so it was £9 down the drain.

Packaging

Hourglass in Prism: You might have seen my review a few weeks back so I won’t dwell on this compact. Needless to say I still don’t rate this product and for me it is the most disappointing product I bought in 2013. Since my review I have found the best way to apply these shadows is with my fingers. After quite a few layers it does look half decent however the merest hint of a blending brush and it disappears into nothing. From me a £28 eyeshadow shouldn’t be this much hard work.

Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation in True Ivory: I usually steer well clear of High Street foundations as they normally don’t work on me and this one was no exception. This was a nice foundation on application but it was a different story after a couple of hours. Not only was it too dewy for my skintone it also oxidised becoming a shade too dark for me. A £4.99 foundation was a lovely idea while it lasted but my face has other ideas and so I’m back to £30+ foundations.

What’s you most disappointing product of 2013?

Suz x

