Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

Beauty Favourites 2013

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2014 is a happy, healthy and fun-filled one for you.

As promised here is the second part of my beauty favourites 2013, albeit a little late thanks to our dodgy internet connection. First off let’s talk about skincare, another one of my little obsessions. I have to admit that over the last year I have tried many skincare products in the quest for an even tone and blemish free skin. However, not all delivered on their promise apart from two very special products.

Skincare

GlamGlow Supermud: At first I was sceptical of this product and thought it was just another hyped-up product, however after about a week I finally understood why the GlamGlow brand gets a lot of love. After using this face mask my skin looked really clean and my blemishes amazingly started to clear up. This mask didn’t break me out at all and my skin tone has become more even since I started using it. The only downside is that it comes in a small pot so it can get messy.

GlamGlow spatula

Ren and Glam

Ren Clearcalm 3 Clarity Restoring Mask: I now use this on rotation with my GlamGlow mask but I find it works best for me as a spot treatment, especially when it’s a big red angry one. After a couple of days of using it my skin is back to normal and I don’t have a volcano on my face! I’m not too keen on the herbal smell but I can l live with it. However, I hate the packaging as I can foresee problems getting the last of the product out.

Ren close

Macademia

Macadamia Natural Oil: Another new discovery in 2013 was the Macademia natural oil range of products. I have been happily enjoying the rejuvenating shampoo but I have been incredibly impressed with the Deep Repair Masque. I would say it’s is the best hair mask I have ever used as it leaves my hair feeling soft, lightweight and manageable. I am almost out of both products so I was debating whether to buy some more or try a new brand but the husband solved my dilemma by buying me a Macadamia gift set for Christmas which both surprised and delighted me. I am very lucky and I am already in love with the Healing Oil Treatment.

Purelakes

Pure lakes Dry Skin Cream: Me and razors don’t get along. Whenever I shave my legs they become insanely itchy and I normally get quite a bad rash. So as you can imagine I have tried a number of hair removal methods over the years. However, I always come back to razors as it is the cheapest, quickest and easiest method even with the problems associated with it. So if I’m using razors I need a good body lotion and last year I finally found something that works for me. Oils, lotions and butters have all fallen by the wayside compared to this thick cream which instantly soothes my skin and stops any itching. Other plus points are that it smells lovely and that it’s very reasonably priced. A 185g tub is priced at just £13.50. Even better it’s a natural brand from a company that is very environmentally friendly. There are a couple of scents to choose from but my favourite is definitely the Grapefruit and Lemongrass.

Purelakes close

Make up Tools:

Make up brushes

Real Techniques: On a final note I can’t go without mentioning a couple of make up brushes which have changed my life. The first is the Real Techniques Buffing Brush, which is part of the Core Collection. I use this brush everyday and I just love how my foundation looks afterwards especially once it’s been set with my setting powder. This brush works for both powder and liquid foundation and I would be interested to see how it performs against the Expert Face Brush, which everyone seems to love. I do wish they’d sell the buffing brush separately as I would love to buy another!

Stila: Since getting the number 9 blending brush it’s become part of my everyday routine and I love experimenting with eye make up each day. Everyone should have a brush like this in their collection as they are very easy to work with and don’t shed at all.

Suz x

Did you spot the mistake? I forgot to include the Pure lakes in the main photograph and included the Michael Todd facial scrub, so apologies for that!

