Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Choc cupcake 

Well Christmas is finally here and after my baking bonanza of the last few days I am well and truly shattered. I think the big day will be spent as far away from the oven as possible and I may well not want to eat another cupcake, piece of fudge or chocolate cookie again.

This year I decided to push myself and have baked the following gifts for people:

  • Chocolate cupcakes
  • Lemon and lime cupcakes
  • Florentines
  • Rum and raison chocolate dipped fudge
  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Four chocolate houses (see previous post for more details)

House 1

Choc chip cookies

Double chocolate cookies:

I like my cookies to be soft and gooey and these certainly hit the spot when it comes to needing a chocolate fix. I normally bake these to take the Lakes with us as they are a good incentive when you’re going on a long walk. Over the years I have experimented with white chocolate, nuts and fruit but the combination of milk and dark chocolate is the one I always return to.

 Florentines

Florentines:

I make these every year for my mum and two sisters as they love nut based recipes. This recipe is a bit more fiddly as you need to shape the mixture while it’s still hot, otherwise they can look messy. However, it’s worth the work as they are very tasty and look pretty professional with a swirl of chocolate over the top.

Fudge:

Shop bought fudge can be quite expensive so we always make homemade fudge. Not only is it quick and simple to make but you can be as creative as you like with the ingredients. We use condensed milk as the basis of our recipe so the fudge is very creamy but it can be kept in the freezer to give a firmer texture.

 

Lemoncups

Cupcakes:

I am currently on the hunt for the perfect chocolate and lemon cupcakes in time for my Sister-in-Laws wedding so I decided to make up a batch to practice my icing skills. However, me being me I couldn’t resist experimenting with flavours so I decided to add a cheeky lime curd centre to the lemon cupcakes and some orange flavouring to the chocolate ones.

Now I just need to finish icing my Christmas cake then I’m well and truly done!

Suz x

