Tags

, , , , , ,

  BuildingsOne of my favourite places to visit is Shrewsbury and last weekend we decided to take the plunge and finish our Christmas shopping fighting the crowds. We arrived early and managed to buy our gifts before making our way over to spend some time in my favourite White Stuff shop. Sadly, on this occasion I left empty handed… but it wasn’t from lack of trying!

sponge cakes
Next we headed over to the outdoor market and I’m not going to lie it wasn’t long before we headed over to a cake stall and came away with a chocolate caramel sponge cake and a lemon and blueberry sponge cake. All in the name of research I assure you.

Choc caramel

Chocolate Caramel – I couldn’t resist

 

Lemon blueberry

And we had to try the lemon and blueberry one as well…

 

Walk

Walking through the Quarry

By now it was starting to get really busy so we decided to head out of town to the Quarry which is one of our favourite walks. Set in 29 acres of parkland, the Quarry allows you to walk along the river before heading over to the Dingle, which is a sunken landscaped garden with water features and is simply stunning, especially in the summer.

Quarry

The Dingle in winter

 

Quarry.summer

The Dingle in summer

After our walk we made our way over to our last stop, the indoor market. This is an excellent little market and has some great stalls, especially the baking one where I managed to get a few items to finish decorating my Christmas cake and also my chocolate gingerbread houses.

Market

Buying Nantwich Blue cheese from the indoor market

 

Tudor restaurant

Tudor Restaurant

 

Buildings2
One of the things I love most about Shrewsbury is the buildings and architecture. There are some really beautiful houses and I can’t wait until we visit again.

Dream house

What a beautiful house

Which places do you like to visit? Suz x

