Tags

, , , ,

Christmas tree Hi there,

Christmas has officially arrived in our house. The Christmas tree is up and twinkling away (although we still need to buy some more lights!) and I’ve made my first batch of mince pies. The last few sessions at college have focused on pastry so I was keen to experiment at home and what better way to start than with mince pies

When making pastry at college we used 2/3 Trex (a solid vegetable fat) and 1/3 butter. However, at home I decided to use only Trex. Although the pastry was short and crisp it definitely wasn’t as good as the mix we made at college.

Mince pies2

Mince Pies using Shortcrust Pastry

Keen to experiment further I then decided to make a mince pie, apple strudel hybrid version using all kinds of ingredients wrapped in filo pastry. In some I added apple, orange juice, orange zest, mincemeat and nutmeg, in others apricot, cherries, mincemeat and Black Butter. I also had some left over mixed nuts soaked in a syrup and cinnamon from college so I decided to add them too. I’ve never been much of a fan of filo pastry but I think this pastry works particularly well with the mincemeat filling so I will definitely be making some more in the future.

filo mince pies

Filo Mince Pies

 

Black butter

Jersey Black Butter – A Recent Find

Next on my list of things to make is a mincemeat cake, something I’ve never made before so I think it will be interesting to see how it turns out.

Other items we’ve made over the last few weeks at college include an Apple Tarte Tatin and some Bakewell tarts using the same pastry base.

Tarte Tatin

Tarte Tatin

Bakewell tarts

Bakewell Tarts

What do you like to bake for Christmas?

Suz x

